Humor As Vice

Sometimes being funny is as easy as making apple cider from apples. Other times, it’s like squeezing lemons to make wine.

The hardest part of humor isn’t always the lines of the joke. It’s timing. Bad timing can ruin the best punchline.

Here’s a little advice: let your humor flow naturally, like your friendships or your syrup. Press too hard and your friendships brighten crack (unless tested by time and strengthened by circumstance). No one wants maple syrup from an oak.

I use humor to make sure that you feel comfortable, to laugh at our differences, to keep people from the awesomeness of the real me. Mostly, however, I hope that you’ll have a brighter day.

Sure, my jokes fall flat more often than not. Sure, writing jokes is harder than spontaneous, situational comedy. Sure, you might never think that I’m funny [I think you’re wrong, but everyone’s entitled to their opinion].

I can’t always make you laugh, but I can try to dry your crying eyes. I may not have the right words, but I have a smile.


Sorry this one wasn’t as funny today. I guess today was a lemonade day.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

