Ending the Fast (…Not Soon Enough)

I don’t know about you, but I’m glad Easter is on Sunday. My will power is at an all time low. The sales on candy aren’t helping. Fortunately, I only need to last the week. Time to power through these last few days to complete my 40 days without dessert (40 days without desert would be easier).

It won’t be long now. Soon, I’ll stand in the candy aisle and buy whatever’s left (all of it?). I’ll sit down and see how fast I can stuff my face and how much I can eat (can a foot really fall off because of diabetes?).

Time to make up for these past few week. In one day. My blood sugar level has been below 100% for too long.

If I had to last longer than a week, I don’t know if I could make it… without boarding myself in my bedroom and never entering a store.

Fortunately, come Sunday, I won’t have to worry. I’ll have a pile of jelly beans, a collection of chocolate eggs, a mountain of marshmallow chicks, and the largest chocolate rabbit I can find. Monday, who knows what’ll be left at the stores [my stash will, most likely, be depleted in desperate need of restocking].

So, hold out just a bit longer. Grit your teeth. Put aside thoughts of sugary goodness. Soon, the way will open. Soon, you’ll taste that sweet, sweet nectar of life once more. The world will have colors and light and laughter and sparkles and rainbows, and chocolate (but not white chocolate; no one likes that stuff).

Keep strong for six more days.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

