Mistborn: An Epic Fantasy

Sorry I didn’t post Monday (not that anyone noticed {or cared}). I got caught up reading the last 25% of Mistborn. And, as anyone who’s read Brandon Sanderson before will tell you, that’s where his books grip you and don’t let go.

I know, you’re probably shocked that I’ve only just read Mistborn, I’m late to the party, what can I say (better late than never?)?

Image result for mistborn

I think that about sums it up

I wouldn’t say that I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was. After all, Mr. Sanderson is an excellent outstanding author. However, I will say that for a while, I didn’t think I would like the book. There wasn’t anything specific about it to dislike, it was a solid three stars throughout. That last quarter, however, is five star material. But, it’s all thanks to the build-up. The twists wouldn’t make sense without the foreshadowing. The layers of depth hidden in conversations and seemingly unimportant events. I honestly feel like you need to read Mistborn as though it’s a mystery novel. Searching for clues, leaving nothing unnoticed.

And, while it is part of a series, the main plot wraps up completely. There are a few strings left dangling, but nothing central to this story’s plot. It feels like a satisfying place to end [to me].

The magic system was cool new and well though out; even if swallow metal is probably bad for my health, the chance to fly by pushing myself off coins scatter on the ground or pulling myself toward metal skyscrapers is enticing.

Image result for mistborn allomancy

Probably shouldn’t try this at home

Also, there may or may not be a Mistborn movie in the works. So, if you haven’t read it yet, pick it up before the movie comes out so you can gloat to your friends about how much better the books are and/or complain how they cut or shortened (ruined in general) your favorite scene.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Humor, Nerdiness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mistborn: An Epic Fantasy

  1. Almost Iowa says:

    I guess I am even later to the party. It has been years since I read fantasy – but that was my first love. It might be time to renew an old acquaintance.

Leave a Reply

