Miscommunication Happens

Customer (mumbling): Do you have i7?
Me: We don’t sell Apple products.
Customer (mumbling): It’s not Apple or Samsung.
Me: What are you looking for?
Customer (mumbling): i7.
Me: What is that?
Customer (mumbling): i7.
Me: Apple? Samsung? What brand?
Customer (whispering): Dell.
Me: Oh! You mean Intel’s i7 processor.


It’s often when we think we know something that we discover we know nothing (John Snow). I’m pretty good at faking it until I make it. Most of the time. I’m also pretty good at ignoring what I don’t want to see.

We talk to each other through the veils of our own biases, thinking that the person across from us has those same biases. We might as well say, “Darmok and Jalad at Tanagra” sometimes. Other times, we are on the same page. That’s when we connect to another individual.

We could be standing in front of a desk of laptops asking for an i7 and only het confused stares. We could reference a Star Trek: The Next Generation episode and people understand. Communication is weird.

But, we still need to do it (until we figure out telepathy {no way. I’m not letting anyone rummage around inside my skull [that’s a scary thought. Plenty of things inside my mind I don’t even want to discover (we know)]}).

So, what do you do when you have miscommunication? Usually, I run and hide. Sometimes I joke about it. Rarely do I attempt to diagnose the error.

That’s not the point. The point is, miscommunication is inevitable. Until we change the way we communicate (by writing a new code); until then, we’re just speaking in coded messages {does anyone still use the enigma machine?} and most of us are learning code-breaking on the fly.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

