An Ode to My Little Immigrant

I know an immigrant. I’m not sure I’d say that this is the first immigrant I met or even the only one I know. I’ll just say this one has had a large impact on me personally.

citizenship

Like most who came from across the border, this immigrant didn’t like the cold. At first, sputtering and stuttering when asked to work in temperatures below freezing. After a few years, however, this immigrant has gotten used to the cold and no longer complains…as much. I mean, I don’t think anyone really enjoys the freezing cold {besides Canadians}.

We met in the summer, warm sunlight shimmering off her body. With bashful reluctance she approached. Hardly uttering a sound. When I first met this immigrant, a language barrier separated us. Fortunately, for me, this immigrant is a very quick learner and soon used fluent English [with a bit of coaxing from my brother].

This immigrant’s distinctive style draws the eye, even after all these years [5]. Wherever we go, together, people always stop to comment.

It’s a beautiful thing, watching people come together regardless of culture. It’s not every day you can witness it. Enjoy it.

I do. I treasure the road trips we’ve taken together. The long drives down scenic Michigan highways and dirt roads. Lugging my archery equipment to and from the range. Even splashing through puddles and jamming to our favorite music [FYI, this immigrant really likes Ricky Martin; every time I plug in my MP3 player, his songs come on the most often].

Hopefully, I never take my hermanita for granted.

passenger-rear

My 2011 Ford Fiesta. Built in Mexico.

(Oh boy, you might receive a lot of flak for this one {but that twist at the end, though!})

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Satire and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Ode to My Little Immigrant

  1. Now this one is funny. I didn’t figure out the twist until I saw the photo. Well written.

Leave a Reply

