Life Without New Years Resolutions

Well, it’s a week into the new year and I just realized I didn’t make any resolutions. I’ve just been wandering around aimlessly. I had no idea. No one told me. I wonder if this ever happened to Harry while living in the cupboard under the stairs?

Are resolutions even necessary? Beyond giving me something to regret not doing in December and forget about by March, are New Year’s resolutions important?

What if I went through all of 2017 without a single resolution? (Makes it hard to use a computer.) Would it make a difference? Would anyone notice? Would I?

It took me a whole week to realize I hadn’t thought of anything to resolute yet. I already mentioned that I’ve usually failed or forgotten my resolutions by spring. I suppose this year I just decided to skip the middleman and go straight to not having any resolutions. At least this way, I won’t have any regrets come December (wishful thinking).

To be fair, I’m certain some people have resolutions (Russian hackers resolve to not rig any US elections this year). Some people have regrets from last year (Donald Trump regrets running for president). Some people may already have regrets from this year.

Why start off the year expecting failure? There’s no point setting yourself up for disappointment. Instead, I might as well just sprawl across the couch, video game controller in one hand, phone in the other [to look up the walkthrough…when needed], and a pillow beneath my head.

Wait, was that a resolution? Dang it! Now I have a goal to strive for. Well, hopefully, you’re still able to go resolution free this year; but if not, keep pressing on. One day you’ll be lucky enough to no longer have one (or you’ll achieve one {less likely}).

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

