Christmas Movies: Art Imitates Life?

Have you finished you Christmas shopping yet? Have you started? Honestly, I wasn’t even sure it was winter until the other day when it finally snowed. Now, of course, it’s cold out and white and holiday songs are buzzing from the radio, people are upset about the lack of Christmas or too much Christmas or the color of Christmas or …well, people always need something to complain about.

If I’m not complaining, I’m not happy. (If I’m complaining, someone’s unhappy.)

They say misery loves company. Maybe misery just relishes seeing itself reflected in others. Or, maybe some people just like making others cry.

That’s why we need holidays. Without the family drama, the mad dash to prepare everything, the hunt for the perfect gift exchange present, the wonder of who will arrive first, the excitement of not know who will leave last or when, and the joy of napping in a chair after a warm meal (even possible at a restaurant).

That’s what the holiday season is all about.  …According to most of the movies I’ve seen recently regarding the subject.

Sure, when I was a kid I dreamed up ways I would defend my house from burglars [most involved me hiding under my bed and praying]. Obviously, I’ve fought people for the last action figure on the shelf (who hasn’t?). Of course, I stood in long lines waiting to checkout my purchases only to discover I’m a few cents short so someone won’t get a gift this year…wait, that one happens [usually, I shortchange myself…or my brother, he won’t notice].

The best part of the holidays, according to kids, are snow days and vacation days. Double secret bonus: a snow day on the last day before vacation. If only I could find a way for work to give snow days…

With only 14 days to go, the pressure is on. Who will reign supreme? There can be only one “best gift of 2016”. …I just need to find it. And hope it makes up for the rest of the year.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

