After the Song, A Revelation

When last we left Ben and his cockatrice, they stood in a bar listening to the poems of a drunken dragon. Though I’m certain no one’s heard worse poetry, let’s press onward.

As the dragon’s song continued, Ben sank to the floor and leaned against the front of the bar. Smooth wood dug into his back. Ben closed his eyes and tried to block out the awful racket–two cats running across chalkboards during a raccoon fight would sound better, in his opinion…not that he’d ever say so to the dragon.

Thankfully, the dragon paused to gulp from its tankard of ale.

Ben cleared his throat. “Do you have a name?”

“Chernobog. Belial. Ozmodius.” The dragon chuckled. “Nothing your tongue could pronounce.”

“Try me.” Ben grinned.

The dragon shook its head. “I’ll not sully the dragon tongue by hearing it profaned on human tongue.” It licked its lips. “Unless you offer your tongue?”

“A kiss?” Ben raised an eyebrow.

A low rumble issued from the dragon’s throat. “To eat.” It grinned. “Can’t remember the last human I ate. Might’ve been yesterday, might’ve been the day before. After a millennia or so, the days blur together.”

“No wonder you sing.” Ben smiled at the dragon. “To stretch the minutes,” he mumbled to himself.

The dragon nodded. “Where was I?”

The bartender raised a finger. “The fires of Mad–”

“You look tired,” Ben interrupted. “We won’t want to ruin your voice. Not on a tasty morsel like me.”

“Hmm…” The dragon tapped his chin with a claw. “My singing doesn’t soften you up?”

“Just my brain,” Ben muttered. To the dragon, he said, “So long as life flows in these veins, I’m as tough and chewy as thistle.”

“Gristle?” The dragon ran a finger across his teeth. “Takes forever to unstick. Personally, I hate the stuff, but if that’s what you’re made of, that’s what your made of.” Its eyes narrowed. “Your taste better be worth a few days of gristle between my teeth.”

Ben shrugged. “Never ate a human before.”

“Really?” The dragon’s yellow eyes widened. “Pretty easy to hunt. Not much sport in it, but that’s what usually happens when you domesticate animals. You drive the fight right out of them.”

So, what do you think will happen?  What do you want to happen?  Was it too short?  Too long?  Too unfunny?

Yep, that’s right.  I’m soliciting comments and suggestions.  I may even use them.  No matter how wacky, zany, nerdy, or weird.  No matter how serious, fanciful, or sci-fi.  It’s a choose your own adventure.  You choose what happens next because I’m just not that creative.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Ben's Hen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

