Staring into the Abyss

Sometimes, the blank page seems like the whitest of black holes (great, now we’re whitewashing science).  It’s scary, takes your breath away, and pulls all light hope from you.  But that’s okay.

We all have something to overcome.  For me, it’s the blank screen of Monday.  It just stares at me, unblinkingly, judging everything I write.  So I don’t filter it (obviously).  I just write (without editing) and release whatever wants out.

Not the best method, probably, but meh.

Humor comes from looking at a situation through a different lens.  When we flip our world, things fall off the table.  It’s either hilarious (in the case of screaming LEGO mini- figures) or terrible (in the case of milk).  Of course, that doesn’t mean we should flip the table.

Just tilt your head.

It may not have the same effect as milk pouring, spilling, and flowing, but it is cleaner (and your mom won’t ground you).

Imagination, almost a lost art.  Soon it’ll go the way of common sense and the dodo.  I suppose, that’s what video games and movies are for.  Who needs imagination when we can immerse ourselves in the virtual reality soon to be at our fingertips?  I’m all for it.  Hook me into the Matrix, please.

…As long as I can fight on Cap’s side during the Civil War and be an Avenger.  Maybe fly.  Oh, and definitely be bulletproof.  That’s a no-brainer.

So, remember, when that abyss stares at you, glare right back and whisper words of power.  Something like, “Shazam!” or “I have the power!”…but, less copyright infringing.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Nerdiness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

