Star Wars Rebels Jumps the Lightsaber

I know Thursdays are normally reserved for the next installment of the cockatrice’s adventures, but I need to make a detour.  Last night’s episode of Star Wars Rebels suspended my disbelief.  It’s not quite as bad as George Lucas adding Hayden Christensen into the final scene of Return of the Jedi, but it’s still bad.  I’m talking about flying via lightsaber.

*Spoilers follow*

Sure, the inquisitors lightsabers spin…whatever.  I’m not a fan of that, but it’s a small thing.  Using the spinning lightsabers as a helicopter?  Not cool.  Not even remotely plausible.  Why even attempt to suggest it?

GIF from Tumblr.

Yes, Star Wars: The Clone Wars brought back Darth Maul…but it was a stretch.  [What’s with everyone wanting to bring back dead characters?  Maul, Boba Fett, next someone will want to bring back Vader (um, besides Kylo Ren?)…or the Emperor.

Okay, Boba Fett isn’t too much of a stretch.  He, at least, fell into the sarlacc to be digested over a period of one thousand years.  Someone just needed to climb in and rescue him, but Maul was cut in half. /end mini rant]

I don’t mind the return of Ahsoka Tano.  Even within the Star Wars animated cartoons canon, I can accept [reluctantly] the return of Maul–where were his metal clanking legs?–I suppose his return in the season finale wasn’t unexpected.  He is, after all, a fan favorite.  But flying by lightsaber?  The line has to be drawn somewhere.

Lightsabers are one thing.  We all know they aren’t possible.  Yet.  We all know they’re the coolest weapon in the galaxy.  Why ruin that?  Wielding two, fine.  Wielding a staff, fine.  A pike.  Even, a whip…maybe.  I draw the line at a self-spinning blade.  Everything after that is too far.  Flying definitely counts as obnoxiously dumb.  Like when you’re five and playing Jedi and during a duel your friend wants eight blades pointing toward you from a half moon emitter stupid.

Cutting those scenes is one retcon I’d approve wholeheartedly.  But don’t take my word for it.  Ask anyone.  Seriously.


Yes, I’m a grow(ish) person who watches Star Wars and cartoons…but, it could be worse.  I could blog about it.

 

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Nerdiness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Star Wars Rebels Jumps the Lightsaber

  1. Pingback: Waiting for a Rogue | Hilarity is

Leave a Reply

