Dinosaurs with Feathers: Scary or Harmless?

The problem with writing about dinosaurs, for me, is whether or not they have feathers.  On the one hand there have been fossilized imprints of feathers on some dinosaurs, on the other hand there have been fossilized imprints of skin.

Sure, dinosaurs are descended from birds, that’s a pretty standard and wide-held analysis.  However, just because a Microraptor has feathers, that means that the larger Deinonychus (spell that without looking it up) does too?

Maybe I’m just old-fashioned or stuck in my ways, but I prefer to wait for proof before assuming.  Or maybe I just want to believe that Jurassic Park got more things right than wrong.

Or, maybe, I just don’t want to write about giant Ostriches.

What’s more terrifying?  A fully armored knight riding a larger version of Jurassic Park‘s Velociraptor or that same knight riding a giant chicken?  Fans of Final Fantasy might prefer the chicken (um, Chocobos aren’t chickens).

I guess, I’m still on the fence.  I like my dinosaurs scaley hides, but with every new discovery, it seems more and more dinosaurs are gaining feathers.  Pretty soon every one will look like an Emu.  Which, I hear, are fairly terrifying…some days.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

