NaNoWriMo: The Challenge Begins (5 Days Ago)

Has anyone completed a novel in a month?  I suppose, I’ll give it a shot.  I mean, since I’m already rocking a full beard and mustache, I can’t participate in either No-Shave November or Mo-vember; I might as well participate in NaNoWriMo…I guess.

According to the official site, you need to complete 50,000 words by the end of the month (or as early as the 20th).  That’s 12,5000 words a week or 1,666 and two-thirds words a day (not sure how you write two-thirds of a word, but okay).

It’s probably easier than it sounds…as long as you commit to writing every day and don’t slack off.  So, I’ll probably only get to about 10 words.  Eh, we’ll see what happens.  After all, who wouldn’t stay inspired while writing about Jedi Knights riding dinosaurs?

Until the muse finds me though, I’ll just stay chained to my computer and stare at the blank screen.

Hopefully, the other participants are having better luck catching their muse.  Do they leave honey out?  Raisins?  What do you bait a muse-trap with?  (The complete, annotated works of William Shakespeare?)

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NaNoWriMo: The Challenge Begins (5 Days Ago)

  1. Angelique says:

    I’ve given up on my muse. She always leads me down twisted, winding paths that have nothing to do with what I need her for. I’m 1800 words behind on day 5 because I have trouble turning off my inner editor.

    • bkreuch says:

      Instead of giving up on your muse, you could just kill it and write about what it tastes like. The inner editor is more troubling, since the instruction manual [at least for mine] doesn’t include how to turn it off. I usually just toss a scrap first draft its way and let it gnaw on it and tear it to pieces while I work on something else.

      Hope that helped…?

      • Angelique says:

        Thank you! That is very helpful advice in regards to the inner editor. Don’t get me wrong about that silly muse–I do love her. But when I wan to write, she wants to work on furniture, when I want to work on furniture, she wants to write. But we have made some beautiful things together when I give in to her whims. Currently, she is all about making new frames for my photography. I’m giving in to her as usual, in hopes that she will return the favor. 🙂

Leave a Reply

