The National Mall, Not a Mall at All

The National Mall in Washington, D.C. has no stores.  Sure, it has plenty of vendor carts to buy souvenirs and “food”, but no actual stores.

Where are the cornerstones?  Macy’s, Sears, Nordstrom’s, etc.  Where are the small clothing stores, the calendar stores, and the cell phone booths in the aisle way?

At least, most of the sidewalks are lined with trees to keep them in the shade of the hot southern sun.  At least you can see the Washington Monument from most everywhere.  At least, you know you’re downtown.

The cornerstones must be monuments.  Or the Smithsonian…though, it’s multiple buildings, one might argue, disqualify it.

Eh, I just take my bearings from Washington’s monolith.  I may not be able to see the cherry blossoms that sprinkle the lawn around it or the flags the circle it; but if I walk toward it, I know I’ll find it (or fall into the reflecting pool).  And from there, I can find most anything [there are signs everywhere].

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

