Running Down a Dream

We’re often told to reach for the stars, but sometimes I feel like The Joker in The Dark Knight.  “I’m like a dog chasing cars, I wouldn’t know what to do with one, if I caught it.”

What happens when we accomplish a goal?  Throw a party?  Lazily flop onto the couch for a Netflix (or Hulu) binge?  Or perhaps, you in your wisdom set a new goal.

Me, I just flop onto the couch, goal realized or not.  Mostly because my goals center around video games, TV shows, or sports teams.  [Are they really my goals, if I want the Tigers to win the World Series?]

There’s not real planning involved.  No build-up of smaller goals to achieve a larger.  Just a full rush toward the finish of a massive goal, like writing a novel or eating a birthday cake in one sitting.

The rewards for small goals are small, why go after them?  Instead, choose humongous goals so that when you achieve them you really feel pride and accomplishment; but when you don’t, you can fall back on the old reliable excuse of “biting off more than you could chew”.  Sure, you’ll have to swallow a bit of your pride but only if you fail.

Moral of the story, if you don’t try you can’t not succeed.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Healthy Living, Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running Down a Dream

  1. The magic is in believing. The joy is in the journey.

Leave a Reply

