Patriotism, Do I Have Enough of It?

“America is Awesome” Day is just around the corner.  And, you know what  that means.  Loud noises!

I don’t mind celebrating our independence.  Some people do it every day.  Not just every day the week of the 4th and Memorial Day and Labor Day and Veterans day, every day in July, or even every day in the summer.  Some people set off noisemakers [not necessarily fireworks (but not their mouths)] every day.  I call them neighbors.

Oh to be as patriotic.

It’s one thing to fly an American flag outside your house a few times a year or every day; however, nothing expresses patriotism better than loud noises at all times of the day or night.

Not that I mind, I don’t have any pets to frighten.  It may even keep pests like rodents away.  It’s just confusing.  I think I must not be very patriotic.

Sure, I can sing all the words to the national anthem and even remove my hat.  I stand during the seventh inning stretch and reminisce about singing “Take Me Out to the Ball Game” while singing “God Bless America” (but we took the pledge of allegiance out of schools for mentioning God…?).

I admit, I love America and all things American, like making fun of Canada, snubbing my nose at England, baseball, apple pie, fireworks, and abusing my civil rights.  Oh, and eating an unhealthy amount of junk food, fast food, and ice cream.  There’s nothing wrong with that…as long as you’re American.

But, how can I love my country more?  Play the national anthem loud and proud all day, every day?  Shoot fireworks every morning, afternoon, and evening, especially while playing “Taps” and having flag ceremonies?  I could get a pair of six-shooters and fire them into the air (might need to grow a large, red mustache though).

There’s nothing wrong with America.  It doesn’t need fixing.  Everything great about it stems from the Constitution [and the Bill of Rights].  Why change it now?  People fight for our freedoms, the least we can do is remember their sacrifices properly.

With lots of alcohol and barbecues for all.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Patriotism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

