My Advice for Writers (Quit)

When people learn I’m a writer they often ask three questions: What have you published, what are you working on, and do you have any advice for other writers?  Mostly, I think the last question stems from the fact that everyone at one time has said, “I’m going to write a book”.

My advice is simple: Write, Read, and Play Video Games.

  1. Write often
    It’s easy to be a writer.  You just need to write.  That’s also the hard part.  Write when you’re tired, when you’re poor, when you’re bored [write about your boredom].  Writing is easy, until it’s not (might as well stop when it gets too difficult).
  2. Read a lot
    Every idea has already been written.  You just need to read it.  Read it, learn from it, experiment with it.  Read good literature, read great literature, read bad literature.  Copy it (don’t plagiarize).  Expand on it.  Write more of it (preferably the bad).
  3. Play more video games
    Look, I’m going to be honest here [probably too honest], I don’t need more competition.  I’m already competing against the already established (J.K. Rowling, James Gurney, George R.R. Martin), the dead household names (Robert Jordan, Michael Crichton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien), and the long dead greats (Shakespeare, the Bronte sisters, Mary Shelley).  I don’t need more competition from the up-and-coming.

To answer the other two: That’s for me to know and you to find out (…great self-promotion there [um, always leave them wanting more?]).

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Advice for Writers (Quit)

  1. bkreuch says:

    Don’t worry, it’s the same advice I give myself.

  2. Almost Iowa says:

    I threatened to quit in a 2,000 word screed. Ah, I thought, 2,000 words, not a bad morning’s work.

Leave a Reply

