A Pirate’s Sage Words

Even after all these years, Hook’s still right.  In the movie, Hook, Captain Hook tries to (spoiler alert) turn Peter Pan’s kids into pirates.  He tells them, the problem with kids is their attitude.  “Me, me, me. Mine, mine, mine. Now, now, now.”

I wonder if we grow out of that.  Or should.

If I don’t look out for #1, who will?  If I don’t get it for me, how will I keep up with the Jones (or the Smiths, the Jenkinses, the Kardashians, the …well, the neighbors).

This is most apparent in political campaigns.  The deluge of phone calls, ads, and commercials overwhelms our senses.  For what?  One day to decide a person’s life.  One day to change the fate of a nation?

One moment to capture 15 minutes of fame (Actually, a term is usually 2 years).  At least for someone.  Which is why I write in my name.  In every category.  If I win, I get my 15 minutes.  But do I want them this early?  Am I ready for them.  And what if I did win?  Would I have to do the job?

Debatable.  Besides, Congressmen only need to show up like 5 times a year.  The rest of the time, they just play golf or fraternize with secretaries.  I totally have a video game collection in serious need of a little tlc.

So go out and vote.  It’s your civic duty (not really sure what that means).  And maybe, just maybe, you’ll forget about yourself for a moment.  Then refocus, get your head back in the game and do what’s best for you and what makes you happy (unless it’s illegal or immoral…or hurts me).

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Patriotism, Satire and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Pirate’s Sage Words

Leave a Reply

