The Best of the Worst?

You often hear stories about “the worst customers”; it’s sort of like the surveys on the top of receipts: no one fills them out unless they have a complaint.  I wonder, however, if it isn’t some kind of horrible contest.  People love to see their name in lights, “____ store in ____ city in ____ state had the worst customers this week; details on page 11”.

Everyone gushes, “We’re famous!” and immediately turns to page 11 to see if they were mentioned by name.  It only gets worse as we approach Black Friday and the news broadcasts videos of people fighting over toys and trampling others to get through the doors.  Just once, I’d like to see a best customer contest.

I don’t mean to say all customers are terrible.  I’m certain it’s just perspective and locale based.  We have customers who make their kids pick up their messes, who hand us products at the register they no longer want [however, if you have a cart-full and only buy 5 items, well…], and they don’t even have their kids on leashes [no judgement if you do (or don’t), we sell them].

All I’m saying is, sometimes the bad outweighs the good.  Just shift your focus.

As we prepare for the brunt of the holidays and fuel our shopping with a leftover Halloween candy sugar buzz and skip right past Thanksgiving, I can’t help but be a little concerned for, well, everyone me.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

