I’m Not a Patriot

I’m not a Patriot [at least not today].

Patriots defend those weaker than themselves.
A patriot does not always wear a uniform, but does own one.
Patriots teach others to be strong.
A patriot fights for justice and freedom.
Patriots love their country enough to stand by its values.
A patriot does not brag about accomplishments.
Patriots do not see race, creed, or gender; they see friends, family, and neighbors; they see enemies and allies; they see untold horrors and boundless joys and still endure.
A patriot works hard to be the best.
Patriots fight the good fight even when all seems hopeless.
A patriot strives to make the community a better place.
Patriots brings out the best in those around them.

I am not a patriot, but I know someone who is.

I owe much to patriots.  Today is one of the few days we set aside to remember just how much.  To all those who have served, are currently serving, or will serve: Thank you.  There are not enough words or pictures on the internet (and it’s filled with words and pictures…that’s all it is) to express the gratitude we feel and should feel.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Patriotism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m Not a Patriot

  1. Pingback: I’m Not a Patriot | Dandelion Man

Leave a Reply

