Community Building 101: Building Community

Some people blog to release ideas that otherwise remain pent up inside a head that would soon explode without release, others blog to relieve stress or vent, some write to create something that will stir a deep resonance, and others write to bridge gaps.

I’m not sure if I fall into any of those categories…at least not every day (or every post).  I do know that sometimes writing is easy and sometimes it is hard.  Yet, I still (sort of) do it.  Some days the distractions are many and others they are few.  Some days the desire is there and others it is not.

However, if I sit and make myself write, something always comes out (though it’s not always pretty).  Sometimes, I even surprise myself when I’m done (as things can often take unexpected turns).

Writing is a way to bring people together (which makes me wonder why I do it, since I prefer to be a hermit).  It helps foster community.  People gather to discuss books, movies, TV shows, comics, etc.

Sometimes, I like to think that I blog just for myself.  I don’t care how many people read in a day, how many followers I have (but don’t unfollow me), or who discusses my work…there are days, though, when I can’t put on the lie.

Maybe that’s why people blog.  To meet other writers.  If that’s the case, I’m doing a terrible job.  I don’t even reply to people’s comments on my blog.  Probably because I’m antisocial, don’t like people, or smell bad…there are a myriad of reasons.  Pick any you like, mash them together if it makes you feel better.

And maybe, I’ll eventually get better at talking to people through a computer (which has to be easier than face-to-face, right? [well, I hope so; I never go outside…except for work]).

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Satire and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Community Building 101: Building Community

  1. Crawl out of your shell, be brave in the attempt, you have a lot to give.

Leave a Reply

