Shopping and Snacking: Not the Same

We’ve all heard the saying, “Don’t go shopping when you’re hungry”.  I’d like to ad an addendum: …especially at the end of Lent.

Sure, we’ve given up cookies, sweets, chocolate, soda, snacks or some other life altering thing (but never video games).  Our larders (um, cupboards?  This isn’t medieval times) have been bare since Fat Tuesday.  Filling them to the brim is a great feeling (except on your wallet).

Just don’t look for snacks after the dearth while hungry.  Everything looks delicious.  After such a swelling of willpower since Ash Wednesday, your body craves a falter…

If you shop when full, you’re better prepared to fight off temptation (read: Oreos).  You’re better able to put aside the two for five deals on popcorn.  Chips don’t beckon.  Salsa doesn’t desire your time.  Cookies seem less loud (…quieter?).

Unfortunately, I don’t often heed advice…even my own.  So, my snack chamber is full and I still have a day to wait to eat it all.  Tempting my resolve, seducing my taste buds, and whispering into the darker places of my soul.

Perhaps it was a mistake to shop hungry; but it was definitely a mistake to shop while hungry and after Lent.  Plus, the store had free sample tables (it’s like they knew resolve would be low).  Needless to say, I came home with a lighter wallet, weaker knees, and a boatload of snacks to bring me momentary pleasure, perpetual guilt, and a lasting spare tire.  Totally worth it while watching the Tigers and Red Wings…or playing video games; but it might have consequences down the road.

But, they taste so good.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

