The Clap in Public

Explain this to me.  Why do people clap at the end of a movie?  I understand liking, even loving, a movie.  I understand clapping for a great performance…when the person/people are present.  But, at a movie, the actors rarely are there watching with you (at least at the places I go).

Applause is a great way to show someone how much you appreciated a performance.  However, I feel the person needs to actually be present to receive the applause (like an award?)

Recently, when I went to see Captain America 2: The Winter Soldier, some people applauded at the end.  Granted it was a good movie–pretty good, bordering on great–but Chris Evans wasn’t in the crowd.  He won’t receive a text saying, “Audience members clapped after watching Captain America 2 at ____ theater at the ____ showing.”

Now, if Chris Evans had been there, I would’ve clapped, too (and asked for workout tips).  And if Scarlett Johansson was there…I’d probably faint (same goes for Samuel L. Jackson).

Claps don’t travel across the world.  If you clap for someone not present they don’t feel the clap at a distance.  There isn’t a way to transfer a clap from place to place (unless you have a group to carry it and spread it like the Olympic torch).

Does that mean we should only clap at the theater?  Should we never clap?  When is it appropriate to clap?

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Nerdiness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

