OK, Winter, You Win

I give up.

We had fog.  We had snow.  We had rain.  We had ice.  We had standing water.  All in one day.  I get it, winter, you hate us.  It’s okay, we all get it.  There’s no need to rub it in.

Sure, winter’s fun…for a while.  I don’t even mind that it sometimes seems to drag on …and on and on…  But, there’s a point when you can have too much of a good thing.  There comes a point when you can have too much sunshine, too many rainbows, and too many unicorns (there is?).  And maybe you want a little gloom in your day.  That’s where winter comes in.

Sometimes, I feel bad for winter.  It’s like Hades.  No one visits, except the dead and he can’t leave the Underworld, often, to attend the parties on Mount Olympus.  Winter wants to party.  It wants you to have fun with it.  But, sometimes people don’t know how.  Or are tired from partying with Spring, Summer, and Fall and just want a break.

So, Winter, like Hades, kidnaps us and forces us, like Persephone, to enjoy its company.  Whether we like winter weather or not.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for winter and snow and the Olympics.  I’m just not a fan of standing water with nowhere to go, gaping potholes that eat your car, black ice on my driveway, people who forget how to drive each and every time it snows, and negative forty degree wind chills.  But, everything else is great.

And the cherry on top of the ice cream sundae that was my day (I don’t know why we use ice cream sundaes, those are delicious.  [Maybe ’cause they have layers/toppings?] There are plenty of other things that do, too.  For example, the candles atop my sixteen-layer cake of craptastic disaster, the eagle atop my totem pole of terrible, the marshmallow in the middle of my s’more of a suck day…the extra fat kid atop the pile that smeared me [referencing the game “Smear the Queer” {Is there a more politically correct name for that game? “Pile On”, “Monday Morning”?}]) I had to fix a flat tire late at night.  So maybe that’s made me a bit bitter toward winter.

And for that, dear season, I apologize.  Don’t hurt me anymore on your way out, thanks.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Cars, Humor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to OK, Winter, You Win

  1. Almost Iowa says:

    One day last June, when I walked down the driveway to get my mail, I found my neighbor cussing.. I gave him that “what’s up?” look and he pointed to a letter saying, “It’s my May plowing bill”. We got 19″ of snow in the middle of that month. This years looks every bit as nasty.

    I don’t mind partying with winter but when a house-guest refuses to leave, I don’t invite them back. Unfortunately, winter crashes the party every year.

Leave a Reply

