The Best Part of the End of the Holidays

There’s a silver lining the end of the holiday season: leftovers.  Knowing I won’t have to cook (burn) anything for a week is amazing.  Plus, it gives you the feeling of the holidays, minus the presents and guests, every time you eat them.

So, I like to make them last.

Some people enjoy them as quickly as possible; but I prefer to savor them.  I mean, you only have so many.  Sure, when they’re given to you, you think “How can I ever eat all this?”; but once you start, they’re gone faster than you expected.

So, I recommend savoring the leftovers.  I mean, how often do you get mom’s home-cooking?  Grandma’s special soup?  Your aunt’s pasta?  Grandpa’s bread?  Your uncle’s sausage?

These are the moments to cherish.  The things that bring us together.  It’s not presents.  It’s food.  Food makes the world go round.  Food helps us survive the family meetings, the rough days, the longs hours.

So, save the leftovers for when you really need them.  When work is too hard.  You’re team lost another game.  When you just want to sit in the dark, wrapped in a blanket.  Those are the days for holiday leftovers, not when you’re on top of the world punching sharks in the face (who wouldn’t want to do that? [any sane person]).

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

