Thankful for Thanksgiving

They tell you to keep your head down, to not make waves; but sometimes, you just can’t keep quiet.  That’s when you no longer have a job.

So, I suppose I should be thankful that I have job [that I can hate] and an income [that allows me to buy gas and food…but little else]; because there are those that are less fortunate.

It’s usually around this time of year that I forget that.  Instead of counting my blessings, I wonder what life would be like outside of retail, or if instead of working on Thanksgiving, I just stood behind my register.

But that doesn’t get the message out.  Little actions of small people don’t effect corporations. Corporations don’t care about the low man on the totem pole, they only care about their bottom line because at the end of the day, corporations have checks to write and bills to pay.

But not everywhere are we able to freely criticize corporate greed (or not so freely, in the case of that Pizza Hut manager).  Here in ‘Merica, we’ve got a good thing going.  Free health care [though the website doesn’t work (and somebody, obviously pays for it)], food stamps (that don’t buy diapers [wait, can they buy alcohol…?]), and the right, nay, the prividge, to work on holidays: federal, state, religious, secular.

I think, mostly, I’m thankful to the people who won’t shop on Thursday and will tell corporations they will no longer stand idly in line while the employees are exploited and forced to work [even for time-and-a-half (yippee)] when they’d rather be with their families who help me see the good in life.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Satire and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thankful for Thanksgiving

  1. Leeta Dore says:

    No, you cannot buy alcohol with food stamps.

Leave a Reply

