First Day, Last Day

Not mine.  I’ve never been so lucky.  But, recently, we had a seasonal hire who put my lack of a work ethic to shame (try harder?  …less?).

I mean, I didn’t work directly with her, just in the same general area as she learned the ropes of a cashier.  Though from what I could tell, I wonder if she learned anything.

I understand first days are hard.  You’re nervous, maybe excited.  There’s a lot to take in.  You don’t want to make a mistake.  It can be overwhelming.  Every once in a while you need to get away and take a break [I take a lot of breaks].

But, generally, the store doesn’t pair you with someone who doesn’t know what they’re doing or isn’t open to questions [unless they pair you with me].  Generally, you are given a chance to learn first by watching then by doing.

But some people just want to sit on the sidelines.  Literally.  Sit.

I just wish I could get away with such lack of effort.  How often have I lamented that they don’t pay me enough to work?  If only I had the courage to take my own words to heart.  Alas, I am weak.

This new employee, however, showed her courage as she sat on the floor (isn’t that dirty?) behind the cash register while her trainer trained her (?).  And, before you ask, nope, I didn’t train her.  Clearly.  I train everyone to hide before taking naps.

So, I don’t think we’ll be seeing any more of her.  Though I have been surprised before by the store.  I’ve learned not to count anything out.

And, just so you don’t think I’m being unfair, we did ask her if she felt okay.  She said she did.  The manager was even nice and politely told her she probably shouldn’t sit on the job.  And, it wasn’t like she was morbidly obese, above average, sure; but not unable to stand for a few hours [of course, I could be mistaken (clearly)].

Sometimes I just have to wonder how seriously I take my commitment to doing as little as possible.  If a new hire can show me up, I need to step up my game.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Day, Last Day

  1. Jenn Beckley says:

    No, her problem is that she’s a lazy ass teenager and I’m betting her parent made her get the job when she didn’t want to. Or possibly her social worker.

Leave a Reply

