And So It Begins

On the eve of daylights saving time (is there a better time of year?  I mean, who doesn’t want an extra hour of sleep?  [Even if it does mess up the alarms on my phone]), today “officially” begins the holiday season.  How do I know?  Toys R Us mailed out their Big Book.  I got it in the mail the other day.  The ads start tomorrow.  War is upon us.

No, wait, I mean, um, best get your lists ready.  And be extra good.  Santa only really remembers the next two months anyway.

The holiday season seems to be getting longer every year.  After all, if you can’t walk into a store and see Christmas displays before Halloween, they’re just not doing their jobs correctly (it’s like Halloween is Thanksgiving lite and Thanksgiving is just new Black Friday).  Soon, Christmas will end, only to have it begin again.  It’s like baseball.  There’s Spring Training, the regular season, the post season, winter ball (usually in Central America), and then back to Spring Training.

I don’t even want to know when stores open on Black Friday.  Last year, it was 7 pm.  The year before it was midnight.  I bet this year it’s 5 pm (place your bets folks).

So, grab your armor and break out the riot gear.  The holidays are near.  [Though I’ve yet to see anyone fight over a toy, this might be the year.  I did almost get mauled when Skylanders SwapForce wave 2 released.  Didn’t I mention that (nope.)?  I’ll have to tell you about it, sometime.  It was horrifying.]

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

