Poster’s Remorse

Do you ever write something and wish you hadn’t?  I know you’ve said something and wish you could take it back, we all have…at least I do [constantly].

That’s the funny thing about writing.  There’s no tone.  Something you thought was sarcastic and funny might just be weird to someone else.  Or, if you send a text of a thumbs up to a girl who’s talking to you about a date night, she might get the wrong impression (just follow politician’s examples…wait, that might get you jail time).

Perhaps you meant to send a message only to one person and hit reply all.  Or wanted to vent your feelings in a letter you never intended to send.  Yet, somehow, things always seem to work out where the wrong person sees it or the letter gets sent.

Why?

I think it’s bad luck (either that or the Fates hates you).  I mean, once might be a coincidence (if you believe in them), twice might be chance, but three times is a pattern.

I’m not going to advise you to be more careful (because that would be hypocritical?).  I’m just going to ask you to read messages with different tones.  Did your boss send the staff a message?  Read it sarcastically or angrily.

Or, if that’s not your style, invent a font that displays tones.  Or a  format.  If I write /casually/ does that make it sarcastic or will you think I couldn’t find the italics button?

Because you never know who’s reading (yes we do, no one…).  But most importantly, just write what you’d like to read and leave the rest out (“do as I say, not as I do” advice?).

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

