A New Minimum?

Recently, I saw that fast food workers were threatening to [maybe did, can’t remember] strike in order to increase the minimum wage to $10.10…or something…and the right to unionize.  I just wonder why they didn’t reach out to their fellow downtrodden, the retail worker?  I mean, sure, we buy from each other, we may even be friendly toward each other; but to work together?  Doubtful.  Industries can’t co-mingle over issues.  That’d create a monopoly powerbase that might invoke change riot police.

You may not think $10.15 is a large increase, it’s just $2(not much good at math without a calculator) $3 more than the current minimum; and it probably won’t keep most workers above the poverty line; but, it will be a morale boost.  And, let’s be honest, I think ‘Merica needs a win right about now.

Sure, we can blame Obama for “keeping us down”.  With his “Yes, We Can!” attitude and creation of minimum wage jobs.  For cutting our space program and ability to reach the stars.

But, really, I think we need to place responsibility squarely upon our own shoulders.  I mean, without the drive or desire to motivate me away from this job, I think I might as well stay; esp. if the wage increases by $3 dollars.  That’ll totally make my suffering worth it.

Or, I could just keep grinding it out with my nose buried in the classified ads (do people still read newspapers?  [I hope so, they’re one of the few places that hire writers.]).

Sure, it’s nice to contemplate life at $10 an hour.  I might be able to pay my bills and buy gas…though groceries will still be iffy.  Not that I really need to join a union [really, that’s just another place for my money to go and I can think of plenty of ways to spend it already without adding another (the XBox One and the PS4 spring to mind)].

But, perhaps, it’s too much to ask that the worker feels appreciated by the company…at least according to the reaction the proposed strike.

I suppose it’s best not to create waves and just work hard and hope for the best.  At least I have a job (hey, the unemployment rate is down to 7.5%) and at least I can drive to work…and at least I like my coworkers [most of the time (except on days ending in “Y”)].  So, I suppose that’s a win.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Satire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

