Shallower Than I Thought

So, tonight I closed the store [which isn’t fun; but I can’t complain since everyone has to do it once in a while (I’d prefer once) and I do get a good deal of opening shifts] and near the end of the night, a young lady came to my checkout who was a legitimate 9 (some may say 11).

So, I went through my normal required dialogue.  She gives very brief answers (brief even for nos), which is understandable because I know I want to leave, so I can only imagine how the customers feel [I mean, I’m nearing the end of an 8 hour shift, so it’s been a long one].  She seems nice-ish.

Then, I hand her the bags.  One has an over-long car set.  She says, “This’ll just make it harder to carry.”  I apologize, she’s fine.  Then she says, “It’ll just make it more harder for me to carry.”

Instant 2/10 (and I heard that Price Is Right sound, you know, the one when the contestant guesses wrong…).

Sorry, guess I’m just one of those guys who appreciates good grammar…not that you need to sound like an astrophysicist or quote Shakespeare.  Just talk like you passed high school English.  Is that so hard?

But maybe that says more about me than about other people.  I’m just not sure what it says about me…yet.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shallower Than I Thought

  1. I had a similar experience. Well, besides it being an attractive female. The local news was on and they were interviewing the students about rising tuition. One of the students the interviewed said that it was “…more harder to pay tuition.” Way to represent.

  2. I think she was just overcome at talking to a nine (some may say eleven) clerk and she got a little tongue tied. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Leave a Reply

