A Very Nerdy Weekend

It’s May 4th.  Some of you would rather say, “May the fourth”.  Those are my people.  Not only does today celebrate Star Wars, it also happens to be free comic book day.  And, Iron Man 3 came out yesterday (though there were some 9 PM Thursday showings).  Also, the Toledo Mud Hens are wearing Chewbacca jerseys in their game today.  Google it.

I went and saw Iron Man 3 yesterday–don’t worry, I won’t give away any spoilers–and let me just say, it was good.  Maybe not Avengers great, but still right up there with the other Iron Man movies.

I will say this, I picked an excellent show time.  The theater wasn’t too crowded.  But, there was a line to get in to the next showing.  And it was fairly long already as my brother and I walked out of the theater.

Going in, I expected to see trailers for Thor 2The Wolverine, and Star Trek Into Darkness.  What I saw were trailers for The Lone Ranger, Fast & Furious 6, and The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.  Not bad trailers, but not satisfying to my (not-so) inner nerd.  Still, they were what one’s come to expect from trailers.  And did an excellent job representing their respective movies.

Tony Stark doesn’t disappoint.  He’s still his charming self a midst increasingly escalating desperation in his battle with The Mandarin.  Some people might take issue with the fact the Rhodey *spoiler* (not really) is Iron Patriot not Norman Osborne; but you need to remember, Sony still owns the rights to Spider-Man.

Some of you might also add that Norman Osborne died in Spider-Man.  Two responses: 1.) People die and come back in comic books all the time 2.) They rebooted the franchise…ish.

So, go see Iron Man 3.  Let me know how you think it compares to the other Iron Man movies.  And don’t forget to stay after the credits roll (this is a Marvel movie, after all [and see if you can spot Stan Lee…not in the after credit scene, in the movie]).

May the fourth be with you.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Nerdiness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

