That Song in Your Head

Ever get a song stuck in your head?

If you’re anything like me, it happens all the time.  Whether watching TV, playing video games, listening to the radio, sitting in a movie theater, going to church, shopping, whatever; we are surrounded by music.  And most songs try to get lodged into our brains.  Isn’t that what makes them so popular?   We want to hear them (they’re catchy).

Most of the time songs are dislodged by other songs.  But sometimes they just fade (rarely).

Recently, while playing Bioshock Infinite (shocker, playing a video game) I got a song stuck in my head for days.  Near the beginning of the game (spoiler alert) an a capella group sings a Beach Boys cover, “God Only Knows”.  It’s actually really well done.  And super catchy.

It was so annoying.

I’d walk around the house humming a few bars (but only the chorus, that’s all I knew).  Or singing it in the shower.

But, just yesterday, the song finally leaked out (maybe it was the fact that I went to work and was inundated by pop music).

And, you know what?  I actually missed having that song in my head (’cause it was replaced by One Direction?).  Never thought that would happen.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That Song in Your Head

  1. Pingback: Five songs most often stuck in my head these days | Syllable in the City

Leave a Reply

