Rudest Comment Yet

Sometimes I think God is just testing my humility (the meek shall inherit the Earth?) or my patience at work.  Or maybe my willpower (can you swear at work?)…not sure.

I was standing behind the register counter in the electronics department, when a customer came up and said, “Hey you, make yourself useful.  Come here.  Tell me if there are more of these anywhere in the store.”

I’ll let that sink in for a moment.

Let’s dissect that statement.  “Hey you” great start.  Sure, not everyone reads my nametag and it does feel weird when strangers know my name (then I remember I’m wearing a nametag); but how about “Excuse me?”

“Make yourself useful” Um, yeah, ’cause now I really want to help you.

“Come here” how about no.  I’m not a dog to be called.

Granted I did help him, but it was because his daughters were looking for an item.  Otherwise, I’d just as soon left him to his own devices.  Needless to say, I hope he started getting his Irish on a little early in the day (benefit of the doubt?)…then again, he did drive to the store with his kids, so…(doesn’t stop other customers, even if it’s not St. Patrick’s Day)

I suppose this is what happens when we have a society where “Please” has be replaced with “Now”.  “Thank you” has disappeared.  And politeness is about as dead as chivalry.

The worst part is that I know someone will eventually top this.  That’s just what happens when you are [perceived as] a second class citizen; even corporate treats us like numbers and robots.

At least the rest of my St. Patrick’s day was good…and I have the day off today, so that help (plus, blogging about your problems is cathartic, right?)

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rudest Comment Yet

  1. Customers are SO obnoxious! I don’t know what makes them think that being rude will get them the help they need any faster.

Leave a Reply

