Obsession

Obsession isn’t a bad thing, is it?  It’s just a super intense desire for something.  It can drive us to do great things.  It can knock us out of our comfort zones.

I mean, sure, we might take it too far, but really, we’d never know how much we could accomplish without obsession.

There are plenty of things to obsess about.  The most obvious, of course, is girls (or boys…if you like boys).  But that’s just the tip of the iceberg.  There’s also cars, science, travel, grammar, politics, religion, fashion, celebrities, food…

Without obsession, would we have put a man on the moon?

Without obsession, would we have paparazzi?

Without obsession, would we have classic car collections or auto shows?

Without obsession, would food be bland?

Without obsession, would writers be uninspired?

Many things come from obsession (or perhaps I’m just trying to justify my own obsessions).  I don’t obsess over much–though I do eat M&Ms in color order: yellow, blue, orange, brown, red, green–but what I do obsess over can drive me crazy.  Not drive to a celebrities autograph session with duct tape in my trunk crazy, but can’t sleep until I write crazy.  You should see my diary journal notebook full of ideas…it can get a little chaotic.

But there is beauty in that chaos because it brings peace to my mind.  Not like the chaos in my room which is organized, but still a mess.  The chaos of my mind needs to be regurgitated onto the page so I can see it for what it is.  The chaos of my bedroom needs to be cleaned so I can’t see it…but, alas, I’m lazy (who likes folding laundry? especially socks).

But sometimes, I wonder if my obsessions drive me or I drive them…

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

