Another Day, Another Rude Customer

[Have I used that title before?]  We’ve all had one of those days, when nothing seems to go your way or you can’t do anything right.  Welcome to retail.

Customer came over to my register today and the first words out his mouth were, “I need to speak to a manager.”  That’s fine with me, so, I requested a manager to come help.

Then, I take a look at what he’s put on the counter: an open car seat or crib (some baby product, they’re all the same to me).  I ask him, “Are you doing a return?” He says he is.  I tell, “Sir, you’re going to have to carry this down to customer service.”  Like I tell every customer who thinks the electronics counter is the customer service desk [to be fair, it is register 1 and it is right next to the exit doors, but still…]

Well, this guy flips out.  “I’m not carrying it down there.  You can carry it down there.  Or when your manager comes he can carry it down there.”

I look at him blankly.  Then I see another customer wants to checkout.

Well, rude guest says, “I’ll wait, you can help this person, if you want.”  So I proceed to take the box off my counter.  At which point rude customer says, “I’m telling your manager that you’re being rude.”

Well, at that point, I stopped caring about his problem.  I ignored him while I checked out the other customer (which was easy since rude guest, thankfully, stopped talking).  It’s not like I gave him the bird (like I wanted to) or swore at him (like I wanted to…well, maybe under my breathe).  I’m pretty sure my eyes popped out of my head, a little, with incredulity.

So, done with the check-out, I grabbed the box and walked it over to customer service (even though I wanted to do nothing).  Rude guest asked, “Should I follow you or will a manager meet me here?”  I answered, “Probably.”  Then gave our customer service lady a heads up and an apology.

After that, I washed my hands of the ordeal.

However, what I should’ve done was just stand and do nothing while the rude customer waited.  And if he asked if I’d call again, I’d say, “Not until you apologize for your rudeness.”

Next time.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

