Shrove Tuesday

Well, it’s Shrove Tuesday and we all know what that means (…actually, I don’t).  You know, to shrove, the past tense of shrive (it’s like dive).  It’s the act of shriving.  To have shriven…  Maybe it’s an adjective.  My shriven stomach.  Yeah, that’s probably it (maybe I should google it).

shrove

nshrove [ʃrouv]

the first day of Shrovetide.
nShrove ˈTuesday

the last day of Shrovetide, when people traditionally eat pancakes.
nShrovetide

the three days before Ash Wednesday.
Not exactly helpful; but at least I learned there’s a Shrovetide (whatever that is).  Who knew Ash Wednesday came in with the tide?
shrove [ʃrəʊv]

vb

(Christian Religious Writings / Theology) a past tense of shrive
Ha! I was right (lucky guess)!
shrive  (shrv)

v. shrove (shrv) or shrivedshriv·en (shrvn) or shrivedshriv·ingshrives
v.tr.

1. To hear the confession of and give absolution to (a penitent).
2. To obtain absolution for (oneself) by confessing and doing penance.
v.intr. Archaic

1. To make or go to confession.
2. To hear confessions.
Well, I suppose eating half a dozen paczki could be a penance (it will be tomorrow…maybe later tonight).  Should I try and eat a whole dozen?  I might die; but what a glorious death.  A death worthy of song…do they have hibernation songs?
Time for me to eat paczki and slip into a nice food coma for the next month and a half (good thing I’ve got the rest of the week off; [that’ll be a start]).  If you don’t see me for a while, don’t worry, I’m just dreaming of jelly-filled fairies (the cousins of sugarplum fairies?).
Happy Mardi Gras!
About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

