What Would You Do For A Gumball?

It doesn’t necessarily have to be a gumball; just anything from the quarter candy/toy dispensers at the store.  I’m sure you’ve seen them near the exit (usually reminding us of the 1950s).

I only ask because something interesting [and unexpected] happened to me the other day at work.

I was taking empty carts from inside the store [you wouldn’t believe how many…there are a lot of people who just leave their carts at the checkout.  And, you need to walk through the coral to leave the store] and returning them to the cart coral.  Well, a boy walked behind me and was waiting.  Thinking he needed to leave, I moved the carts to the side.  Completely blocking the candy dispensers.

You might ask, where were his parents, but it’s not uncommon for kids to run around the store (literally) without supervision (or for parents to play catch [or hockey] in the aisles with their kids).  So, I wasn’t too concerned about that (well, I mean, if you feel comfortable not watching your kids why should it bother me? [because you try to be a decent human-being?])

So, I begin to push the carts into the lines of carts already there; but, since I have too many to turn in the narrow hallway, I leave some behind to get in a second trip.

However, there was no need.

The boy pushed the remaining few carts into the line!  Can you believe it?  I wouldn’t if I hadn’t seen it with my own eyes.  Clearly he’s going to grow up to be a gentleman and a scholar.  And, if letting your child run loose in a toy store gets him to behave like this, I take back all my negative comments (but only for the well behaved children and parents).

I hope he got something extra cool from the dispenser.  For example, a ring that he can use on Valentine’s Day to show a girl (without cooties…I know, rare) he likes her.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

