In Memory of Light

Well, I just finished A Memory of Light.  I must say, it’s pretty good (65 page Prologue and 90 page chapter aside [not that they were bad, I just hate stopping mid-chapter…made for a long night]).

Have you ever finished a book or series and just felt, deflated?  Not because the book was bad, but because you knew it was over.  I don’t think empty is the right word, nor is disappointed (not I feel like a gleeman).  It’s just odd to think that you’ll never read another (new) story about that world (don’t get me wrong, I reread books all the time).  It’s just a little sad, that’s all.  But, I suppose that’s what good author’s do, they create worlds we want to be in (cosplayers?) and characters we want to love (cosplayers?).  I suppose that is the goal, isn’t it?

And as all good storytellers, and good performers, will tell you, leave them wanting more.  Well, Robert Jordan, and Brandon Sanderson, did.

Well, now that I’ve finished reading it, I can unlock the door and come out of my isolation.  No need for spoiler alerts anymore (for me, at least).  I can pick up my sword and march toward a new beginning…or find some LARPers (Live Action Role Players) who still fight toward Tarmon Gai’don.  Tai’shar Manetheren(wow, got a little extra nerdy, there [don’t worry, I had to look it up, I’m not fluent in the Old Tongue…yet])

Or, I suppose I could work on the next great epic fantasy sage.  I think I’ll let fate decide.  Do I go outside or do I remain inside?  Time to toss the dice.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Nerdiness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Memory of Light

  1. I vote for writing the next epic saga.

Leave a Reply

