Becoming More Goal-Oriented

I’m not very good at coming up with goals.  Well, that’s not completely accurate.  I’m great at thinking about long term goals: make an Olympic team, become a bestselling novelist, have a successful blog (depending on your definition of success, already achieved), get out of retail…

But, when it comes to actually attempting to achieve these goals, I mostly know where to start, but don’t have a goal progression to accurately track my achievements.

So, I think today, I’ll list out a few goals for myself.  The question is, where to start?

My brother would have me start by emptying the dishwasher; but let’s face it, that’s not going to happen (they really need to invent a self-unloading dishwater [but not one that will throw your plates and silverware across the kitchen]).

I think I should start with a few easy to achieve goals and work toward progressing into harder challenges.

1. Peel a clementine and keep the rind intact.  Work up to an orange.

3. Don’t cut yourself with a butter knife, today. Work up to a steak knife.

3. Watch my favorite TV shows. Work up to DVRing them or owning the complete series.

D. Shovel snow (thanks to Al Gore, this one’s easy).

F. Read a bookmark.  Work up to reading a magazine, then a chapter of a book, then a book.

6. Shower.  Don’t really know how to improve this one…maybe improve my speed without sacrificing hygiene?

7. Listen to one person (without judging them?).  Work up to two, then three.  Eventually, I hope to be able to stomach listening to multiple people a day.

8. Don’t use the middle finger while driving (admittedly, this one’s going to be tough.  However, with enough yelled profanities, I might be able to do it).  Work up to not using the horn either.  Final goal: stop swearing at other drivers (may need to move a private island or stop driving).

9. Lift something heavy-ish.  Work up to an actual weightlifting weight, i.e. a barbell or a straight bar.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

