Shopping After the World’s End

You’d think that people would’ve stocked up for the end of the world and wouldn’t need to go shopping for a while.  But, that just doesn’t seem to be the case.  The grocery stores are crowded.

Maybe everyone did what I did: expected the world to end so didn’t shop.

Not the best plan, it turns out (and not just because the world didn’t end).  Shopping today, I realized–after almost needing two carts–that I probably should shop more often than once a month.  However, it’s cold outside; plus, I thought the world was going to end.  That’s two excuses right there.  Couple in the fact that I’ve hardly been home since Black Friday, except to sleep, and that’s three solid reasons why I filled the conveyor belt and still had items in my cart (first time ever!).

Who’d have thought two guys would eat so much food?  (Everyone…)  I can only chalk it up to inexperience regarding apocalypses; though I did make it through Y2K, just fine (which reminds me: the other day, a lady came in and asked if we had Y2K for the PlayStation.  I was fairly sure she meant NBA 2K13, because nobody wants Y2K…well, except maybe Steve Jobs, but only so Apple can outsell PCs.).  So, I suppose I should be used to armageddon scares that fail to pan out.

Guess all that’s left is to eat what I just brought home and resolve to go to the store more often (probably won’t happen until it gets warmer [so like February {thanks Al Gore} he created global warming] and the internet).

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Satire and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shopping After the World’s End

  1. Ned's Blog says:

    Hahah! The “Y2K game!” I don’t know why I’m laughing. That could so easily be me if not for my kids. I shudder to think of how out of touch I will be in a few years when they leave home, taking their running techno-commentary with them, leaving me to become one of those sad people taking free library classes on “How to start your computer…”

Leave a Reply

