Maybe I Should Work at Nordstroms

Well, it’s that time of year again.  When I complain about having to work on the holidays (sorry loyal readers).  Not that it will do much.  I mean, I don’t really think the CEO of my company is one to buck trends (more likely to do whatever Wal-Mart is doing).

Sure, it might be nice to enjoy the holidays, but not everyone has a job in these hard economic times (unless you apply at my store…which hardly anyone has [maybe that’s why my hours have increased so much this season] esp. when considering we offer the best seasonal pay in our region).  Of course, every time I read the “Tell you friends we’re hiring” signs, I feel like I should replace the word “friends” with “enemies” (have I made that joke before?).

But, once again we will be open earlier this year than we were last year on Thanksgiving (at least Target gives time-and-a-half).  Unfortunately, the lines will be just as long before the store opens as last year–stretching around the corner–and there’s no indication that that trend will improve (improve from my perspective).

At least a few stores are attempting to preserve the holidays.  Good on ya, Nordstrom’s.  At least some stores prefer to worry about their employees and winning customer loyalty instead of worrying about their bottom lines.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Satire and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Maybe I Should Work at Nordstroms

  1. Lasonya says:

    Having read this I believed it was rather informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this short article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  2. Vera says:

    I enjoy what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

  3. My family all the time say that I am killing my time here
    at web, however I know I am getting know-how every day by reading such pleasant articles or reviews.

Leave a Reply

