1408 Days

One thousand four hundred and eight days seems like a long time.  It’s just over three years (3.85 years, which equals 3 years, 10 months, 5 days, 14 hours, 24 minutes…roughly).  Does anyone plan ahead that far?  I don’t.  I know I don’t.  Considering I don’t even plan ahead to next week or even tomorrow (except for work), four years seems like a long time away (and since the world will end in December, why plan? [which reminds me, I haven’t done an apocalypse post in a while…time to channel my inner conspiracy theorist] shouldn’t be too hard).

But, I imagine it will zip past in the blink of an eye.  I still remember 2008…but it seems distant, like a dream.  What will 2012 look like in 2016?  What will I remember from 2008?

Time marches on.

Yet, what if we could stop it?  Would we want to?  Time is one of the few constants.  I mean, if I could travel backward in time, that’d be great.  I could fix a few mistakes, undo a few regrets…but how would that change me?  I like to think it’d make me a better person (or at least one without regrets).

But to stop time entirely?  I don’t know if I’d like that.  I’d never get to see my favorite TV shows.  Or the Avengers sequel.  And where do we stop time?  Winter? Summer?  Would the world stop rotating?  What would that do to the planet?

Perhaps it’s better if I don’t think about it.  I’ll just end up under the covers afraid to leave their sanctuary…again.

Best to just take things one moment at a time and not worry.  I mean, the only people who look ahead four years are the silver medalists at the Olympics (…maybe the bronze medalists and the fourth place finishers).  Everyone else just takes things one day at a time.  Right?  I can’t be the only one who doesn’t remember yesterday and isn’t concerned with tomorrow, can I?

EDIT: You’re probably wondering why I’m thinking about 1408 days.  Well, yesterday, on my Twitter feed, I read a post that said 1409 days until the Rio Games.  That just blew my mind.  But, I suppose it makes sense (the blowing of your mind?).  After all, it must take a lot of preparation and planning to get ready for the Olympic Games.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Olympics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

