Train as an Athlete or as a Gamer?

I don’t know about you, but I sometimes feel like I need goals in my life.  I mean, sure, it’s great to work at a job I can practically do in my sleep (can’t actually confirm or deny, however, in case my boss reads this).  But, still, there’s got to be more to life than just going to work…right?

Even if there isn’t, I need some way to spend my free time.  Precious as it is.  I rarely do much beyond work and sleep (or so it seems).

So, now, I’ve come to a crossroads.  I’m still young-ish.  I can still do whatever I set my mind to…except gymnastics, I’m just not that flexible.  Gosh dang it, I’m stubborn (like a true Polish-American) enough to keep going after someone tells me to stop (unless it’s at work, then, of course, I listen, especially if I’m ask to punch out early).  I’ve got all the hallmarks of a great ….potential.

The choice for youth (for the sake of argument, let’s pretend I fall into this category) seems limited these days.  Either you’re an athlete or a gamer.  Sure, you might say there are other roads.  But really? Are there?

Nerds, geeks, dweebs, and dorks are all pretty much relegated into the gamer category.  Yes, there are cool gamers, but most are also sci-fi nerds or fantasy afficianados.  They aren’t necessarily cos-players or LAARPers.  Some are just math wizards who need an outlet.

Jocks, on the other hand, usually fall into two groups smart and dumb-as-rocks (don’t know why there isn’t more diversity).  Occasionally, however, you can get the loser jock, but they are few and far between.

Now, I’m not breaking them down into popular and unpopular, bully and bullied, because that would be stereotyping.

Thanks to the Olympics and a recent bout of “I want to be an Olympian”-itis, I discovered I am woefully out of shape (I am, however, a shape: round).  I sweat merely at the thought of going for a jog, lifting weights, or mowing the lawn.  I prefer to sleep rather than sweat (though thanks to this heat wave–that seems to be mercifully ending, knock on wood–I have had nights were I do both, unfortunately).

It could come down to eating quinoa like Thor and only Olympic sponsor brands of food, I’ll let you know how it’s progressing over the next few weeks.

However, I’d rather not lay all my eggs in one basket (never really understood that phrase, it seems much more efficient to only carry around one basket…perhaps the farmer is OCD about working his arms at the same rate?); thus, I’ve also thought about ways to becoming a gaming legend.

First, I need to find a way to turn into a seven year-old…or at least get a voice modulator; otherwise, I won’t be taken seriously by the online gaming community (does everyone suck helium before speaking during multiplayer matches?).

The endless hours I have now that the Olympics are over (and I’m certain work will cut back on my hours once they realize how much I complain about work online) need to be spent cultivating my gaming career.

I can either gain 100% completion on all my games or train during my off hours and become a fine athletic specimen.

Since I’m inherently lazy, I’m sure you know which way I’ll go (unless someone tells me I can’t).

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Train as an Athlete or as a Gamer?

  1. rebecca2000 says:

    I know you said there are the two boxes…I say there are three. Writer…granted writers might be on the proverbial pole but we sit on our asses all day and don’t play games.

    I feel like a professional writer now, and I swear my butt hurts from sitting. I don’t even get paid to do it.

    • bkreuch says:

      Shh! Don’t spread that around. You’ll give more competition to the rest of us (in all honesty, I probably was going to mention writers at some point when I began to write [probably shouldn’t watch TV while blogging]).

      • rebecca2000 says:

        LOL I understand. Sometimes I drink while I blog. But only at night 😉 Maybe that is why the number one search terms for my blog are:

        Women in yoga pants without underwear
        Chineese men with long eyebrows
        Dora the Explorers Butt
        Back Dildos
        Women in itty bitty workout outfits

        and so on. I should rethink things huh? 😉
        ((hugs)),
        Becca

Leave a Reply

