Opening Ceremony Wants

Well, as the Summer Olympics officially start (they actually started Wednesday), it’s time to see what London has come up with.  The Opening Ceremony will define the Olympic experience for these weeks.  It’s what everyone looks forward to and longs for.  So, what do I want to see?

1. Leprechauns.  Seriously, we all know they’re real.  Just show them to the world.
2. Steampunk.  It was invented during Victorian England, might as well show-off.
3. Tall ships.  That’s right, not just pirate ships, but privateers.
4. The Queen.  This is, after all, London.  I’m sure she’ll make an appearance.
5. Stonehenge.
6. Quidditch.  It wouldn’t be the UK without a little magic and our favorite wizard sport.
7. A dragon.
8. The return of King Arthur.  Hey, if anything’s going to bring him back, it’s going to be the Opening Ceremony.  All the pomp and circumstance, it’s fit for a king.
9. Mary Poppins.  Everyone’s favorite nanny.
10. Harry Potter.  It wouldn’t be complete without the boy-who-lived, himself.  It’s not England without Hogwarts and Harry Potter.  I mean, they go hand in hand…in hand.

Now, to see which ones I got right.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Olympics, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Opening Ceremony Wants

  1. Hello, I’m a Brit, and it’s all just finished here.
    I won’t spoil it for you, but you’ve got two dead on, another two just off (although I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised by the direction you were wrong with) and one near miss, in that what is shown begat one of your 10.

  2. bkreuch says:

    Doh! I can’t believe I forgot James Bond.

    …I suppose I can take solace in the fact that I had nearly five right…

  3. why am I here in a handbasket? says:

    I nodded off during the opening ceremony.

  4. bkreuch says:

    *Spoilers*
    Well, I’ve seen the Queen, J.K. Rowling, and Mary Poppins (can’t believe I forgot Peter Pan…gah!). And, of course, David Beckham.

    Thus far, very most excellent.

  5. bkreuch says:

    I always forget how many countries follow USA before the host country…guess, I’m just a typical Yank (as they’d say across the pond).

Leave a Reply

