It’s My Lawn, I’ll Do What I Want

At the beginning of summer, one of my neighbors rang my doorbell and informed me that I had poison ivy in my yard.  Needless to say, I was surprised (mainly because I mow my lawn and have never gotten itchy…besides from grass clippings in my shoes).  I mean, sure, she was just concerned for her grandkids.

I still haven’t removed it (oops).  But, I got bust at work, then it got really hot (plus I’m lazy).  So, I just sort of forgot about it…until now.

But looking at where it is in my yard, near the back in an old, partially overgrown flowerbed, I don’t really see how anyone would catch poison ivy.  No one would (rather, should) walk back there.  It’s blocked by a fence and trees, it’s not like it’s a passage to someone’s backyard.

And, maybe I cultivated the poison ivy to keep people out of my yard (has anyone ever considered doing that?).  I mean, it is my yard, after all.  Perhaps I’m just crotchety and don’t like people traipsing over my grass or flattening it with their bike tires.  Maybe this is all part of my subtle scheme to keep my yard people free.

It’s easier than sitting on the porch with a water hose waiting for people to walk past.  Now, if only I could do something about the dogs that poop on my lawn…(I’m thinking bow-and-arrow…)

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s My Lawn, I’ll Do What I Want

  1. Hm, intentional poison ivy, great idea!
    I hope the bow and arrow is for the owner, not the dog. 😉

Leave a Reply

