Sometimes You Just Want to be a Jerk Back

Maybe it’s just human nature.  Maybe it’s just frustration boiling to the surface.  But, isn’t there some part of you that doesn’t want to let someone merge during rush hour?  And isn’t that urge heightened after someone doesn’t let you merge?

It happens a lot at work (not that I often need to merge).  It’s easy to get frustrated there (probably because it’s retail [probably because it’s work]).

Customers ask: “Where’s the bathroom?”
And I just want to say, “See that big sign?”

Customers ask: “Are there any open check-outs?”
And I just want to point to my lane light…that is clearly turned on.

Customers ask: “Do you work here?”
And I want to reply, “No, I just wear the name badge so I don’t forget my name.”

But I don’t.  I mean, that’d just be rude.  The only thing worse than a rude person is a person who thinks they’re funny (those two cross more than you’d think).

But, it can even happen at home.  Your brother invites friends over and doesn’t tell you.  But, that’s not a big deal.  It’s not like we have unlimited texting (but seriously, it’s not a big deal [isn’t that what people say when they’re really pissed about something but don’t want to talk about it?] I don’t want to talk about it).  The real problem comes when I tell him that his friends are constantly parking on the wrong side of the street (since our subdivision has a firelane).  Yet, he replies, “They won’t be here that long.”  Um, clearly our definitions of long are very different; since, the shortest his friends have visited is four hours.

But, that main problem, is that if his friends park on the wrong side of the street, I can’t get indignant at my neighbors when their friends park on the wrong side of the street.  And that’s my number one pet peeve (besides kids who wear their hats sideways, teens who blast so much bass their trunks rattle, and drivers who punch holes in their mufflers and think its cool…but besides that, yeah, top 5…at least top 10).

Maybe next time his friends visit, we’ll eat closer to 7 o’clock rather than 9 o’clock.  There seems to be a pattern.  One visit 7, the next 9, then 7, then 9.  I suppose I should know better by now and just make myself a bowl of soup at 6 and let my brother play host for his friends (like I do anyway).  At least that way, I won’t faint from hunger before he even considers making something…

But, that’s not why I’m going to bed with a headache.  I mean, it could be the fact that I didn’t eat dinner with my brother at 9 o’clock (because I’m not about to eat just before I go to bed)…okay, maybe that’s part of it.  I think, it’s just a stubbornness headache, not a frustration headache.  (Stubbornness definitely contributed to the empty stomach [I was so used to it by then, I hardly felt it.  Just don’t talk about food, you’re making me more hungry…dang it! now I’m making me hungry.])

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

