Always Read the Fine Print

Have you ever thought it be a good idea to enter a writing contest (No? Me either.)?

Turns out, each contest has different rules and regulations (duh.).  But, how often do people actually read them?  I mean, the rules are probably just guidelines anyway, right (yes, n00b, yes they are *facepalm*)?

I don’t see a problem submitting an novel length manuscript into a  writing contest do you?  Of course, if the rules/guidelines aren’t on the front page, how are you to know there are any?  I mean, sheesh, what am I supposed to do: scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the links (obviously)?

Just be careful.  You never know if the limit is 2000 words or 20,000.  And then you just throw away your entry fee (that’s why I only enter free contests…oh, and always read the rules).

I mean, this economy is hard enough for writers.  My only creative outlet is this blog (maybe that’s because you throw your money away on contests without reading the rules).

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

