Avengers, Avenged and Then Some

So, as my brothers and I walked out of the theater, we discussed the movie (if you ask what movie, the answer is: “There is only one”…I mean, “There can be only one”?).  Eventually, it come up that Thursday was an all day geek marathon.

How did I not know about this?

Apparently, Thursday (in certain theaters and cities) showed Iron Man, Iron Man 2, Thor, The Incredible Hulk (Edward Norton version), and Captain America.  All leading up to the midnight premiere of The Avengers.

How did I not know about this!

Clearly, I’m not as in the nerd as I had previously thought.  I need to brush up on my nerdy skills.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to spend all day watching movies (those of us with bills to pay)?  Especially the awesomeness that is the Marvel movie franchise.  Who doesn’t like Captain America, the big blue boy scout (wrong comic book franchise hero nickname, bub)?  Or Thor, the demi-god with a heart of gold?  I mean, Robert Downey, Jr. actually makes Iron Man into a great character and, coincidentally watchable.  Iron Man’s rise from respectable fan base to towering movie giant is due, in large part, to the portrayal of Downey and the writing/direction of Jon Favreau.

But, all of Marvel’s previous movie accomplishments pale in comparison to Joss Whedon’s The Avengers (and not just because it has already made more money than the others’ total box office take, combined).  It is just so much larger, grander, and epic than the others.  It truly delivers on its promise to be the meshing of six great movie heroes (I threw in Black Widow and Hawkeye for good measure…they play vital roles… occasionally.  Hey, I like them.  Okay?  Back off.).

So, go see it.  If you need to prep by watching the previous Marvel installments.  It’s okay.  If you wait until the weekend, you’ll just be part of the group helping keep it at #1.  Let’s show the world who really runs it.  Nerds!

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor, Nerdiness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

