Double Lane Turns Should Not Exist

I know that I’m not a great driver, I’m probably not even a good driver; but at least I can maintain a lane while turning.  It’s not that hard.  Well, maybe it is, since most people seem unable to do it.

Sure, someone turning left always cuts across the kitty-corner left turn lane.  That’s harmless right (unless you’re pulled too far forward)?  I’m more concerned about the double lane turns (left or right doesn’t really matter apparently).

Everyday, I see people take the turn too wide or too  shallow.  Too shallow isn’t a problem when you’re on the inside turning left (again, except for the people in the other left turn lane).  But too wide on the inside track when turning left bumps you into the car on the outside track.  It’s not rocket science.

Too shallow is a problem when turning right from the inside lane, however, as you’ll hop the curb.  Too wide while turning right again bumps you into the car in the outside lane.

Too wide on the outside track when turning left will also have you curb hopping (do we all remember the pedestrian point system?).  While turning too shallow from the outside lane when turning left will run you into the car on the inside lane (didn’t see that coming).

Too wide on the outside track when turning right is usually pretty safe (you’re still forgetting about the left turn lane).  While too shallow when turning right on the outside track rams you into the car on the inside lane.

Is it really so difficult to turn?  I mean, I see it all the time (my finger is getting a workout).  Come on, people, just maintain your lane.  I don’t want to get into an accident.  You don’t want me to punch you in the face.  It’s a win-win.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

