The First Day of Spring is Like New Year’s Day

Every spring we start out cleaning.  It’s habit or tradition.  Warm weather clears out the snow and we see all the leaves we failed to pick up, the garbage blown into our yard, and the weeds littering our lawn and garden.  But mostly, we see ourselves.

We look in the mirror and groan.  Winter was not kind.  We gained weight to give ourselves an extra layer of warmth (hey, it works for whales and polar bears).  Now, however, we need to get rid of it before summer swimsuit season.  Otherwise we’ll be out on the beach in a t-shirt instead of showing off our muscles.

Let’s  be honest.  You’ll only workout for a few weeks before throwing in the towel (at least, I will); much like your New Year’s resolutions.  I can’t even remember mine.  I know I made some, but that was three months ago (practically a different year).  They didn’t last.

Hopefully, though, my ambition to be in stellar summer shape will maintain a longer shelf life.  It’s crunches time.  Time to get flat abs, lose the love handles, and trim the beard (okay, that may be a little extreme).

I just hope there’s enough time to work off my Easter weight (mmm, Cadbury eggs) before hitting the beaches.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

